Inter-parliamentary relations

The Australian Capital Territory is an active member of the international parliamentary community. We participate in several inter-parliamentary organisations as well as partner directly with other parliaments. These activities ensure our parliament remains innovative and connected as well as providing assistance to developing parliaments. Working with other parliaments in common areas develops parliamentary best practice, grows mutual understanding between jurisdictions, and helps build stronger, more resilient democracies.

Inter-parliamentary organisations

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Logo of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) is an organisation of most national and state-level parliaments in the Commonwealth of Nations, representing almost 17,000 members of parliament across the globe. Established in 1911, the CPA hosts workshops, develops best practice frameworks, and provides a forum to promote parliamentary democracy.

Most events are organised at a regional level, run by each of the CPA's nine geographical regions. The ACT Legislative Assembly is a member of the Australia Region and often collaborates with the Pacific Region. Visit the CPA Australia Region website.

The Assembly is also a member of CPA Small Branches, a group for the Association's smaller jurisdictions. Find out more about CPA Small Branches.

Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians

Logo of Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians Australian Region

Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) is an network which is part of the CPA, comprised exclusively of female members of parliament from around the Commonwealth of Nations. Set up in 1989, CWP aims to promote greater female representation in parliaments and to ensure that women’s issues are addressed in the work of Commonwealth parliaments.

Like the CPA, most events are organised at a regional level. Our female MLAs are part of the Australia Region. Visit the CWP Australia Region website or Find out more about the annual CWP Australia conference.

Australia and New Zealand Association of Clerks-at-the-Table

Logo of the Australia New Zealand Association of Clerk at the Table

The Australia and New Zealand Association of Clerks-at-the-Table (ANZACATT) is an organisation of over 80 clerks and other parliamentary officials from the Australian, New Zealand, and state and territory parliaments. Formed in 2001, ANZACATT holds professional development workshops annually and provides a forum to discuss and share best practice in parliamentary procedure and administration.

Visit the ANZACATT website.

Australasian Study of Parliament Group

Logo of the Australasian Study of Parliament Group

The Australasian Study of Parliament Group (ASPG) is a politically non-partisan organisation set up in 1979 to encourage research and study of parliamentary institutions in Australia and the Pacific. Its members are a mix of members of parliament, parliamentary officers, academics, journalists, students and others.

Its main event each year is the ASPG conference, which brings members together for a forum over three days. Find out more about the annual ASPG conference.

The ASPG is divided into nine chapters, with each chapter organising its own events. The Legislative Assembly is part of the ACT chapter, along with the Commonwealth Parliament. You can find out more about the ACT chapter on its website and you can follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Parliamentary partnerships

The ACT Legislative Assembly has two partnerships with international parliaments: the Maneaba ni Maungatabu of the Republic of Kiribati, and the Legislative Assembly of the Canadian province of Prince Edward Island. Click below to find out more about these relationships, why we partnered up, and what working together includes.

Australian parliaments

As part of the Commonwealth of Australia, the ACT Legislative Assembly regularly collaborates with the Federal and other state and territory parliaments. We also host a compiled calendar of sittings for all Australian parliaments each year. Click the jurisdiction name below to head to that parliament's website or Access the 2020 collated parliamentary calendar.

Commonwealth • New South Wales • Northern Territory • Queensland • South Australia • Tasmania • Victoria • Western Australia