ACT Legislative Assembly


Members of the Assembly are elected by the Hare-Clark proportional representation system. Canberra is divided into five electorates —  Brindabella, Ginninderra, Kurrajong, Murrumbidgee and Yerrabi. Five members are elected in each electorate, making a 25 member Assembly.

All members have electorate and parliamentary responsibilities; those who belong to political parties also have party responsibilities. Some members, such as the Speaker and ministers, have additional responsibilities. The type of work members do is influenced by many factors including:

  • whether they are in government, or opposition or are members of the crossbench;
  • their parliamentary status; and
  • the seniority or authority they have within their own party.

In this section:


 Sitting day
 Committee hearing
 Other events

Other formats: HTML PDF iCal

Subscribe to the calendar RSS feed RSS Icon

Social media

Site Map | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
Page last updated on 18 July 2019
2015 Legislative Assembly for the ACT