ACT Legislative Assembly

Speaker Announces Legislative Assembly Art Prizes

Joy Burch MLA

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

25 November 2016

Joy Burch MLA, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, today congratulated the winners of the annual Legislative Assembly Award for emerging artists.

The prize is awarded to two final year students from the ANU School of Art. The awards were presented to this year’s winners at a ceremony as part of the school’s Graduating Exhibition 2016 on Friday night. This year’s winners are:

  • Andres Caycedo for ‘Chain Reaction’ (ceramic); and
  • Christina Appleby for ‘Divergent’ (textile).

‘The quality of the work is inspiring’, Ms Burch said. ‘It is a privilege to be able to recognise their work through this award.

‘This is the first time I have had the opportunity to present these awards, there is clearly considerable talent and dedication in this group of up-and-coming visual artists. ‘

The prize, a $500 grant to each of the winning students, will help with the cost of materials associated with their artistic practice. The artists are also invited to have their works exhibited in the Assembly building for a year.

‘We always appreciate the opportunity to display these works. The creativity, skill, and variety of the works are very impressive, and I wish all the graduates every success into the future’, Ms Burch said.

Previous winning works have included sculptures in timber and mixed media, oil paintings, and hand beaten copper.

The award for emerging visual artists reflects the Assembly’s longstanding association with the ANU School of Art through the Legislative Assembly Art Advisory Committee, which is chaired by the Speaker.



 Sitting day
 Committee hearing
 Other events

Other formats: HTML PDF iCal

Subscribe to the calendar RSS feed RSS Icon

Social media

Site Map | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
Page last updated on 28 November 2016
2015 Legislative Assembly for the ACT