Media release - Inquiry into Youth Mental Health in the ACT - Public Hearing and Extended Call for Submissions


Public Hearing and Extended Call for Submissions


The Standing Committee on Education, Employment and Youth Affairs will hold the second public hearing for its Inquiry into Youth Mental Health in the ACT on Tuesday 2 June 2020 from 9.30am – 11.30am.

The Committee will hear from the Minister for Mental Health, the Minister for Education and Early Childhood Development and the Minister for Children, Youth and Families along with officials.

The public hearing will be held virtually via Webex and live streamed to the public. The hearing can be viewed from the Assembly on Demand website.

Following powerful evidence received at the first public hearing earlier in the week, the Committee decided to re-open the submission process until Friday 19 June 2020.

Committee Chair, Mr Michael Pettersson MLA, said “hearing directly from individuals and families impacted by youth mental illness is invaluable to the Inquiry process. It is these on-the-ground accounts that allow the Committee to understand the gaps and areas for potential improvement in the system.”

The Committee encourages Canberrans with lived experience of youth mental health challenges to provide a submission and indicate whether they would be willing to speak with the Committee at a public hearing. Whilst it is the Committee’s preference that submissions and verbal evidence remain public, Mr Pettersson MLA emphasised that the “privacy of the affected young people is paramount so there is no need to disclose names or other identifying details in your submission.”

The Committee prefers all submissions to be lodged in electronic form (Word format). All submissions must include a name, an email address, a postal address and a telephone contact number. Personal contact details will not be published.

Submissions should be forwarded to:

Information on parliamentary privilege and how to lodge a submission is available at:

For further information, please contact the Committee Secretary, Ms Sarah McFadden, on (02) 6207 0524 or by email at:

29 MAY 2020