2019 03 21 - Should there be a Territory Coat of Arms


Should there be a Territory Coat of Arms?

Following the adoption of the Southern Brush-tailed Rock-wallaby as the mammal emblem for the ACT, the Legislative Assembly is now considering the idea of an ACT Coat of Arms.

The ACT is the only Australian State or Territory without a coat of arms. The familiar coat of arms with a black swan and a white swan, which is currently used to represent our jurisdiction, actually represents the City of Canberra.

On 29 November 2018 the Assembly asked the Standing Committee on Environment and Transport and City Services to inquire into a separate Territory Coat of Arms.

The Committee has now familiarised itself with the conventions surrounding the design of coats of arms, and invites written submissions until 21 April 2019.  The Committee is particularly interested in hearing a range of views on two questions:

  1. Whether there should be a Coat of Arms for the Australian Capital Territory (in addition to the Canberra City Coat of Arms).
  2. What symbols might be included in the design of an ACT Coat of Arms.

When suggesting images and symbols, the Committee invites people to describe how they are significant to or representative of the people, history or landscape of the ACT.

In May 2019 the Committee intends to invite further community input to the inquiry through an online survey.

The Terms of Reference are available on the Committee website.

The Committee is due to report back to the Assembly in June 2019.

For further information, or to make a submission, please contact the Committee Secretary on (02) 6205 0124 or by email at: LACommitteeETCS@parliament.act.gov.au.

Submissions should include your full name, postal address and telephone number. Electronic lodgement is preferred. Additional information on the submissions process can be found on the Assembly’s website at www.parliament.act.gov.au.

21 March 2019


For further information please contact:

Committee Chair, Ms Suzanne Orr MLA on (02) 6205 0135

Committee Secretary, Brianna McGill, on (02) 6205 0124 or at LACommitteeETCS@parliament.act.gov.au