ACT Legislative Assembly

Members of the Eighth Assembly (2012-2016) - Andrew BARR

This biography was last updated in 2016 and is retained for historical purposes. Do you want Andrew Barr's biography for the Ninth Assembly (2016–current)?

Australian Labor Party, Molonglo Electorate

Photo of Mr Andrew Barr


Elected 5 April 2006
Re-elected 29 October 2008
Re-elected 20 October 2012



Select Committee on Election Commitments Costing Bill (2012)
Select Committee on Privileges (2010)


Chief Minister (December 2014 - present)
Deputy Chief Minister (May 2011 - December 2014)
Treasurer (July 2011 - present)
Minister for Economic Development (May 2011 - present)
Minister for Urban Renewal (January 2015 - present)
Minister for Tourism and Events (November 2012 - present)
Minister for Children and Young People (November 2008 - November 2009)
Minister for Community Services (November 2012 - January 2015)
Minister for Education and Training (April 2006 – November 2011)
Minister for Industrial Relations (April 2006 – November 2008)
Minister for Planning (April 2007 - May 2011)
Minister for Sport and Recreation (November 2012 -January 2015)
Minister for Tourism, Sport and Recreation (April 2006 – November 2012)


BA (Policy Studies), ANU (1992 - 1995)

Chief of Staff, Minister for Urban Services; Minister for Disability, Housing and Community Services; Minister for Police and Emergency Services (2004 - 2006)
Senior Adviser, Office of the Government Whip (2002 - 2004)
National Accounts Manager - Rehame Australia (2000 - 2002)
Electorate Officer – Annette Ellis MP (1996 - 1999)
ANU Union Director (1995)
ANU Students’ Association Treasurer (1994)


Diversity ACT, Australian Republican Movement, Aids Action Council of the ACT, ACT Brumbies, Canberra Raiders, GWS Giants, Hawthorn Football Club, Member
SpringOut Festival, Organising Committee (2004 - 2005)
Greening Australia, Volunteer (2004 - present)
Friends of the ABC, Member (2003 - 2007)
Canberra sub-branch Australian Services Union, Vice- President (1998)
Australian Services Union (Clerical and Administrative Branch), Workplace delegate (1996 - 2006)
ANU Union Board of Management, Director (1995)
ANU Students' Association, Treasurer (1994)
ANU Political Science Students’ Association, President (1993)
Australian Republican Movement (ANU Branch), Founding Member (1992)
Lyneham High School Board, Member (1989)
Lyneham High School, School Captain (1989)
Red Cross, Volunteer Collector (1986 - 1989)
Weston Creek & City Junior Cricket Clubs (1982 - 1986)


Born in Lismore, NSW, in 1973Moved to Canberra in 1977 and lives with partner Anthony in Dickson


Cooking, movies, theatre, reading, listening to music, wine, cycling, tourism, playing sport and following the fortunes of the Brumbies, the Raiders and the Hawthorn Football Club


 Sitting day
 Committee hearing
 Other events

Other formats: HTML PDF iCal

Subscribe to the calendar RSS feed RSS Icon

Social media

Site Map | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
Page last updated on 29 February 2016
2015 Legislative Assembly for the ACT