ACT Legislative Assembly

Chapter 3

Administration and Procedure Committee

This chapter sets out the procedures for the establishment, membership and role of the Standing Committee on Administration and Procedure.

Administration and Procedure Committee


  1. (a) A Standing Committee on Administration and Procedure is established at the commencement of each Assembly to:

    1. (i) in addition to the committee undertaking inquiries self-referred or from the Assembly, in the third year of an Assembly term it shall inquire into and report on the operation of the standing orders and continuing resolutions of the Assembly with a view to ensuring that the practices and procedures of the Assembly remain relevant and reflect best practice;

    2. (ii) advise the Speaker on:

      1. (A) Members’ entitlements including facilities and services;

      2. (B) the operation of the transcription service (Hansard);

      3. (C) the availability to the public of Assembly documents;

      4. (D) the operation of the Assembly library;

    3. (iii) arrange the order of private Members’ business, Assembly business and Executive Members’ business; (Amended 27 November 2012)

  2. (b) the Committee shall consist of:

    1. (i) the Speaker;

    2. (ii) the Government whip;

    3. (iii) the Opposition whip; and

    4. (iv) a representative of the crossbench (or if a single party, the whip of that party);

  3. (c) the Speaker shall be the Chair of the Committee; and

  4. (d) the Committee shall have the power to consider and make use of the evidence and records of the Standing Committee on Administration and Procedure appointed during the previous Assemblies. (Amended 9 March 1995 and 4 May 1995; further amended 28 May 1998, 6 March 2008 and 8 December 2011, 13 December 2016)

17. (Standing order omitted 9 March 1995).

18. (Standing order omitted 9 March 1995).

19. (Standing order omitted 9 March 1995).


 Sitting day
 Committee hearing
 Other events

Other formats: HTML PDF iCal

Subscribe to the calendar RSS feed RSS Icon

Social media

Site Map | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
Page last updated on 16 May 2018
2015 Legislative Assembly for the ACT