ACT Legislative Assembly

Administration and Procedure

In 1995 the Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory amended standing order 16, which established the Standing Committee on Administration and Procedure



Madam Speaker

Ms Tara Cheyne MLA

Mr Shane Rattenbury MLA

Mr Andrew Wall MLA

Assistant Secretary:

Contact Phone:
Contact Email:
Contact Fax:  
Mr Tom Duncan
Ms Janice Rafferty

(02) 6205 0191 

(02) 6205 3109
  1. A Standing Committee on Administration and Procedure is established at the commencement of each Assembly to:
    1. in addition to the committee undertaking inquiries self-referred or from the Assembly, in the third year of an Assembly term it shall inquire into and report on the operation of the standing orders and continuing resolutions of the Assembly with a view to ensuring that the practices and procedures of the Assembly remain relevant and reflect best practice;
    2. advise the Speaker on:
      1. Members' entitlements including facilities and services:
      2. the operation of the transcription service (Hansard);
      3. the availability to the public of Assembly documents;
      4. the operation of the Assembly library;
    3. arrange the order of private Members' business, Assembly business and Executive Members' business;
  2. the Committee shall consist of:
    1. the Speaker;
    2. the Government whip;
    3. the Opposition whip; and
    4. a representative of the crossbench (or if a single party, the whip of that party);
  3. the Speaker shall be the Chair of the Committee; and
  4. the Committee shall have the power to consider and make use of the evidence and records of the Standing Committee on Administration and Procedure appointed during the previous Assemblies. (Amended 9 March 1995 and 4 May 1995; further amended 28 May 1998, 6 March 2008, 8 December 2011, 27 November 2012 and 13 December 2016.)

Inquiry Started Status
Inquiry into the Commissioner for Standards referrals process Started: 16/02/2017 Status: Completed 08/05/2017
Inquiry into Omnibus Amendment Bills Started: 16/02/2017 Status: Completed 08/05/2017
Inquiry into the Code of Conduct for All Members of the Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory Started: 13/02/2017 Status: Completed 08/05/2017
Review of Continuing Resolution 9—Senator for the Australian Capital Territory—Procedures for Election Started: 30/11/2017 Status: Completed 14/02/2018
Inquiry into Estimates procedures Started: 15/02/2018 Status: Completed 22/02/2018
Review of Standing Orders Started: 22/02/2018 Status: Completed 25/10/2018
Standing orders relating to contempt Started: 22/03/2018 Status: Completed 12/04/2018
Inquiry into the Conduct of Miss C Burch MLA Started: 20/08/2018 Status: Completed 23/08/2018
Inquiry into the ACT Register of Lobbyists Started: 01/11/2018 Status: Ongoing
Inquiry into the application of Section 65 of the Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Act 1988 Started: 20/09/2018 Status: Ongoing
Inquiry into standing orders for the Ninth Assembly Started: 11/08/2016 Status: Completed 13/12/2016

Social media

Site Map | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
Page last updated on 25 October 2018
2015 Legislative Assembly for the ACT