ACT Legislative Assembly


New committee seeks views on fuel prices

A new committee investigating why Canberra drivers continue to be charged more for fuel is encouraging individuals and groups to share their views on ACT petrol prices.

The ACT Legislative Assembly passed a motion to establish the Select Committee on Fuel Pricing on Thursday, 14 February 2019.

The committee will inquire into how fuel prices are set in the ACT, the impact of escalating costs on Canberra drivers, and possible legislative or regulatory measures that could reduce the price of filling up at the bowser.

The committee will also canvass the reasons for pricing discrepancies within the ACT and compared to other cities, while assessing the effectiveness of initiatives to reduce fuel prices in other jurisdictions.

Committee Chair Tara Cheyne MLA said an inquiry into fuel prices was sorely needed as Canberra drivers continued to be gouged at the pump.

“The ACT community believes the market has failed to deliver competitive fuel prices and, to date, it is not clear why we are spending significantly more on petrol than our neighbours across the NSW border and even in regional areas,” Ms Cheyne said.

Canberra petrol prices are, on average, at least 7 cents per litre higher than Australia’s five largest cities.

Ms Cheyne said the committee looked forward to working productively on the issue and encouraged individuals, families, organisations, businesses and petrol companies to make a submission.

Submissions to the committee are due by 5pm, Monday 11 March 2019. Submissions can be made by e-mailing The terms of reference is available at

And further detail about how to submit are at

The select committee will provide a final report to the Assembly in June 2019.

For inquiries contact the Secretary on (02) 6205 0199 or 0410516850.

19 February 2019



 Sitting day
 Committee hearing
 Other events

Other formats: HTML PDF iCal

Subscribe to the calendar RSS feed RSS Icon

Social media

Site Map | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
Page last updated on 19 February 2019
2015 Legislative Assembly for the ACT