ACT Legislative Assembly

Speaker Announces Legislative Assembly Art Prizes

Joy Burch MLA

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

27 November 2017

Joy Burch MLA, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, congratulates the winners of the annual Legislative Assembly Award for emerging artists.

The prize is awarded to two final year students from the ANU School of Art. The awards were presented to this year’s winners at a ceremony as part of the school’s Graduating Exhibition 2017 on Friday night. This year’s winners are:

  • Mahala Hill for ‘Chemical Waste’ (ceramic shards, bone china, burn outs, porcelain, glaze); and
  • Alex Lundy for ‘Relative duration (space blanket’ (acrylic screen print on paper, glue, stepper motor, aluminium tube, MDF, hardware, electronics).

‘The artistic achievement across all mediums was inspiring’, Ms Burch said.

‘This is the second time I have had the privilege of presenting these awards. The quality of the works is admirable—there is clearly considerable talent and dedication in the ACT’s up-and-coming visual artists.’

The prize, a $500 grant to each of the winning students, will help with the cost of materials associated with their artistic practice. The artists are also invited to have their works exhibited in the Assembly building for a year.

‘We always appreciate the opportunity to display these works. The creativity, skill, and variety of the works are very impressive, and I wish all the graduates every success for the future’, Ms Burch said.

Previous winning works have included ceramics, textiles, sculptures in timber and mixed media, oil paintings, and hand-beaten copper.

The award for emerging visual artists reflects the Assembly’s longstanding association with the ANU School of Art through the Legislative Assembly Art Advisory Committee, which is chaired by the Speaker.



 Sitting day
 Committee hearing
 Other events

Other formats: HTML PDF iCal

Subscribe to the calendar RSS feed RSS Icon

Social media

Site Map | Copyright and Disclaimer Notice | Privacy Policy
Page last updated on 27 November 2017
2015 Legislative Assembly for the ACT