

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

STANDING COMMITTEE ON JUSTICE AND COMMUNITY SAFETY Mr Jeremy Hanson MLA (Chair), Dr Marisa Paterson MLA (Deputy Chair), Mr Andrew Braddock MLA

## MEDIA RELEASE

## New inquiry into the Human Rights Act

A new committee inquiry into the Human Rights Act was announced in the Legislative Assembly today.

Justice and Community Safety Committee is inquiring into <u>Petition 32-21</u>, which was tabled in the Assembly on 23 November 2021 with 518 signatories.

The petition calls on the Assembly to amend the <u>Human Rights Act 2004</u> to:

- 'enable a complaint about any breach of the Human Rights Act to be made to the Human Rights Commission for confidential conciliation, and
- if conciliation is unsuccessful, enable a complaint about a breach of the Human Rights Act to be made to the ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal for resolution.'

Such a proposal would supplement the <u>Human Rights Commission</u>'s existing complaints powers.

The committee invites submissions from all Canberrans with an interest in human rights, including people in the mental health and disability sectors, public housing tenants, people with experience in the justice and corrections system, the LGBTIQ+ community, and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community.

Chair of the committee, Mr Jeremy Hanson MLA, said 'We welcome input from the community on how the Human Rights Act is operating, and whether the Human Rights Commission needs additional powers to investigate and resolve complaints.'

The <u>terms of reference</u> for the inquiry are available on the committee webpage.

Information about how to make a submission is available on the Assembly website.

Submissions are open until 7 April 2022.

The committee will conduct a public hearing on 28 April 2022.

Friday 4 February 2022 STATEMENT ENDS.

## For further information please contact:

Committee Chair, Mr Jeremy Hanson MLA on (02) 6205 0133 Committee Secretary, Brianna McGill, on (02) 6207 0524 or at <u>LACommitteeJCS@parliament.act.gov.au</u>