

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

STANDING COMMITTEE ON HEALTH, AGEING, COMMUNITY AND SOCIAL SERVICES Chris Bourke MLA (Chair), Andrew Wall MLA (Deputy Chair), Yvette Berry MLA, Nicole Lawder MLA.

MEDIA ALERT

PUBLIC HEARING

INQUIRY INTO THE EXPOSURE DRAFT OF THE *DRUGS OF DEPENDENCE* (CANNABIS USE FOR MEDICAL PURPOSES) AMENDMENT BILL 2014 AND RELATED DISCUSSION PAPER

The Standing Committee on Health, Ageing, Community and Social Services will be holding a public hearing on Tuesday 31 March, from 9.30am- 12.00pm, for its Inquiry into the Exposure Draft of the *Drugs of Dependence (Cannabis Use for Medical Purposes) Amendment Bill 2014* and related discussion paper.

The Committee will hear from the Australian Medical Association ACT, Families & Friends for Drug Law Reform (FFDLR,) Drug Free Australia and the Public Health Association Australia. Submissions from these witnesses are available on the Inquiry webpage at: <a href="http://www.parliament.act.gov.au/in-committees/standing_committees/Health,-Ageing,-Community-and-Social-Services/inquiry-into-exposure-draft-of-the-drugs-of-dependence-cannabis-use-for-medical-purposes-amendment-bill-2014-and-related-discussion-paper?inquiry=624651

The hearing will be held in Committee Room 1 of the Legislative Assembly for the ACT and media representatives are welcome to attend and/or cover the hearings. If media representatives wish to film or photograph during the hearing, they are asked to contact the Committee Office in advance.

Public hearings are web streamed live from the Legislative Assembly website at: http://www.parliament.act.gov.au/functions/streaming/specify-location

Committees on Demand - You will be able to access archived audio-visual replays of the Committee proceedings via the Assembly website at: http://committees.parliament.act.gov.au/

Monday, 30 March 2015

For more information contact:

Committee Chair, Dr Chris Bourke on 620 52244 Committee Secretary, Mrs Nicola Kosseck at <u>nicola.kosseck@parliament.act.gov.au</u> Committee Support Office: 620 50127