

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

STANDING COMMITTEE ON JUSTICE AND COMMUNITY SAFETY Mr Peter Cain MLA (Chair), Dr Marisa Paterson MLA (Deputy Chair), Mr Andrew Braddock MLA

MEDIA RELEASE

New Inquiry into Dangerous Driving

A new Committee inquiry into Dangerous Driving was announced in the Legislative Assembly today.

The Chair of the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety, Mr Peter Cain MLA, said 'The Committee will inquire and report on the dangerous driving, with particular reference to:

- a) Criminal justice response to dangerous driver offending in the ACT
- b) Police response to dangerous driving in the ACT (both in prevention and post-crash response)
- c) Capacity of trauma services and support services to respond to the post-crash event
- d) Prison sentences, fines and vehicle sanctions legislated for dangerous driver offences in the ACT
- e) Support for victims of dangerous driving offences through the justice system
- f) Corrections responses and the sentencing regime for dangerous driving in the ACT
- g) The effectiveness of rehabilitation and driver re-education at reducing recidivism
- h) Police and other related technological advances to identify and prevent dangerous driving
- i) Any other related measure with respect to the administration of corrections, courts and sentences in the ACT with respect to dangerous driving.

We look forward to hearing from as many people as possible about the key issues – on possible strategies that the government can put in place to address dangerous driving through police and emergency response, and through the justice system.

The Committee invites submissions to be received by **30 September 2022**.

The Terms of Reference for the inquiry are available on the Committee webpage.

Information about how to make a submission is available on the Assembly website.

4 August 2022 STATEMENT ENDS.

For further information please contact:

Committee Chair, Mr Peter Cain MLA on (02) 6205 1927 Committee Secretary, Kathleen de Kleuver, on (02) 6207 0524 or at LACommitteeJCS@parliament.act.gov.au