

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

SELECT COMMITTEE ON HEALTH AND COMMUNITY WELLBEING Mr Johnathan Davis MLA (Chair), Mr James Milligan MLA (Deputy Chair), Mr Michael Pettersson MLA

## MEDIA RELEASE

## Committee starts inquiry into the West Belconnen supercell thunderstorm

Following a resolution by the Assembly on 10 February, the Assembly's Health and Community Wellbeing Committee has resolved to conduct an inquiry into the recent West Belconnen storms.

The terms of reference include the recovery, communication strategies, service delivery, costs from storm damage, and lessons learned. Full terms of reference are available from the Committee's <u>webpage</u>.

The Committee Chair, Mr Johnathan Davis, said "Storms regularly occur in Canberra and they are becoming more frequent due to inaction on climate change. The Assembly has noted that storms impose significant costs on the community. This inquiry can help Canberrans and the ACT Government be better prepared for storm events."

The committee invites written submissions addressing any or all aspects of the terms of reference; guidance is available on the Assembly <u>website</u>. Submissions can be emailed to <u>LACommitteeHCW@parliament.act.gov.au</u>, with submissions closing at the end of **Friday**, **22 April 2022.** 

The Committee will report by 1 September 2022.

10 March 2022 STATEMENT ENDS.

**For further information, please contact:** Committee Chair, Mr Johnathan Davis MLA, on (02) 6205 0051 Committee Secretary on (02) 6205 0129 or at LACommitteeHCW@parliament.act.gov.au