LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY



STANDING COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENT, CLIMATE CHANGE AND BIODIVERSITY Dr Marisa Paterson MLA (Chair), Ms Jo Clay MLA (Deputy Chair) Mr Ed Cocks MLA

MEDIA RELEASE

Report on Inquiry into ACT's heritage arrangements

The Chair of the Standing Committee on Environment, Climate Change and Biodiversity, Dr Marisa Paterson MLA, today tabled the Committee's report into its *Inquiry into ACT's heritage arrangements*.

The Committee announced this inquiry on 5 December 2022. The Committee received 65 submissions and 19 exhibits, and held a public hearing on 16 May 2023. The Committee heard from individuals, community councils, and residents associations, organisations representing the heritage, environmental, architectural, historical, and planning sectors, and the Minister for Heritage and Directorate officials.

The Committee's report made 37 recommendations in total, addressing matters such as the structure of governance for ACT's heritage arrangements, increasing support for community sector heritage, increasing funding and resourcing for the ACT Heritage Unit, and amending the *Heritage Act 2004* to include a definition of Aboriginal cultural heritage that recognises both tangible and intangible heritage.

Dr Paterson said, 'the Committee is of the view that several aspects of the ACT's heritage arrangements require reviewing, updating, and strengthening. This process should aim to create a best practice system that ensures heritage in the ACT is respected, valued, and promoted for its unique characteristics and rich history.'

The Committee's report is available on the Assembly's webpage at https://www.parliament.act.gov.au/parliamentary-business/in-committees/recent-reports

Under the Assembly's standing orders, the ACT Government is required to respond to committee reports within four months of tabling.

24 October 2023 STATEMENT ENDS.

For further information please contact:

Committee Chair, Dr Marisa Paterson MLA, on (02) 6205 1448 Committee A/g Secretary, Miona Ikeda, on (02) 6205 0199 or at <u>LACommitteeECCB@parliament.act.gov.au</u>