## **Appendix 8—Party affiliations in the Assembly**

	Election year									
Affiliation	1989	1992	1995	1998	2001	2004	2008	2012	<b>2016</b> <sup>1</sup>	2020
Abolish Self- Government Coalition	1	1	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
ACT Greens	-	-	2	1	$1^2$	1	4	1	2	6
Australian Democrats	-	-	-	-	1	-	-	-	-	-
Australian Labor Party	5 <sup>3</sup>	8	$6^4$	6	8	95	7 <sup>6</sup>	8 <sup>7</sup>	128	10
Independent	-	-	1	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
Liberal Party	$4^9$	$6^{10}$	$7^{11}$	$7^{12}$	$7^{13}$	$7^{14}$	6	8 <sup>15</sup>	$11^{16}$	9
Michael Moore Independent Group <sup>17</sup>	-	2	1	1	-	-	-	-	-	-
No Self- Government Party	318	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
Osborne Independent Group	-	-	-	219	-	-	-	-	-	-
Residents Rally	$4^{20}$	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
Total	17	17	17	17	17	17	17	17	25	25

The number of Members of the Legislative Assembly increased from 17 to 25 at the 2016 election due to the passing of the Australian Capital Territory (Legislative Assembly) Bill 2014.

<sup>2</sup> Ms Tucker resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 14 September 2004. As the 2004 preelection period had begun, the casual vacancy was not filled.

<sup>3</sup> Mr Whalan resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 30 April 1990 and Mr Connolly was appointed as his replacement on 1 May 1990.

<sup>4</sup> Mr Connolly resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 19 February 1996 and Ms Reilly was declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 21 March 1996, following a recount of ballot papers received by Mr Connolly at the 1995 election.

Mrs Follett resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 12 December 1996 and Mr Corbell was declared elected to fill the causal vacancy on 9 January 1997, following a recount of ballot papers received by Mrs Follett at the 1995 election.

<sup>5</sup> Mr Quinlan resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 21 March 2006 and Mr Barr was declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 5 April 2006.

Mr Stanhope resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 16 May 2011 and Dr Bourke was declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 1 June 2011.

Ms Gallagher resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 23 December 2014 and Ms Fitzharris was declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 16 January 2015.

Ms Porter resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 19 February 2016 and Mr Hinder was declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 7 March 2016.

- 8 Ms Fitzharris resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 8 July 2019 and Mr Gupta was declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 23 July 2019.
- 9 Mrs Nolan resigned from the Liberal Party on 17 October 1991 and sat as an independent from 22 October 1991. She became a member of the New Conservative Group on 19 November 1991.
- Mr Westende resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 25 July 1994 and Mr Stefaniak was appointed as his replacement on 23 August 1994.
- Mr De Domenico resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 30 January 1997 and Ms Littlewood was declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 13 February 1997, following a recount of ballot papers received by Mr De Domenico at the 1995 election.
- After the 1998 election Mr Kaine resigned from the Liberal Party on 13 May 1998 and formed the United Canberra Party. This party was registered on 30 July 1998 and was deregistered at the request of the party on 30 June 2001. Mr Kaine sat in the Assembly as an independent from that date. The Kaine Independent Group was registered on 13 August 2001 and Mr Kaine sat as a member of that ballot group until the 2001 election.
  - Mrs Carnell resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 13 December 2000 and Mrs Burke was declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 18 January 2001.
- Mrs Cross resigned from the Liberal Party in September 2002 to become an independent from 27 September 2002. Mr Humphries resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 24 January 2003 and Mrs Burke was declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 10 February 2003.
- 14 Mr Mulcahy resigned from the Liberal Party on 12 February 2008 to become an independent.
- Mr Seselja resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 11 June 2013 and Ms Lawder was declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 26 June 2013.
  - Mr Smyth resigned as a Member of the Legislative Assembly on 15 July 2016 and Mr Jeffery was declared elected to fill the casual vacancy on 29 July 2016.
- 16 Ms Candice Burch was declared elected on 13 December 2017 to fill the casual vacancy due to the death of Mr Doszpot on 25 November 2017.
- 17 Michael Moore Independent Group was known as the Moore Independents from the 1995 general election.
- Mr Prowse resigned from the No Self-Government Party on 3 December 1989 and became a member of the Independents Group from 4 December 1989. He became an independent from 1 May 1990, and a member of the Liberal Party on 31 July 1990. Mr Duby resigned from the No Self-Government Party and sat as a member of the Independents Group from 4 December 1989. He became a member of the Hare-Clark Independence Party on 19 November 1991. Ms Maher resigned from the No Self-Government Party and sat as a member of the Independents Group from 4 December 1989.
- Osborne Independent Group was deregistered at the request of the party on 15 February 1999. Mr Osborne and Mr Rugendyke sat in the Assembly as independents from that date to 12 August 2001. On 13 August 2001 Mr Osborne was registered as a ballot group name, as was Mr Rugendyke. Both men sat as members of their respective ballot groups until the 2001 election.
- Mr Moore resigned as a member of the Residents Rally on 24 October 1989 and became an independent from that date.