LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

EGEE QTON No. 22

STANDING COMMITTEE ON ECONOMY AND GENDER AND ECONOMIC EQUALITY

Ms Leanne Castley (Chair), Ms Suzanne Orr (Deputy Chair), Mr Johnathan Davis MLA

Inquiry into ACT Budget 2021–22 ANSWER TO QUESTION TAKEN ON NOTICE 27 October 2021

Asked by PETER CAIN MLA on 27 OCTOBER 2021: MR MICHAEL YOUNG took on notice the following question(s):

Ref: Hansard Transcript 27 October 2021, Page 178

In relation to: ACT Work Safety Council

MR CAIN: Minister, I have some questions about the ACT Work Safety Council. Firstly, are members of the council remunerated and, if so, what does the chair receive per annum and what do the other committee members receive per annum?

Mr Gentleman: The remuneration is considered by the Rem Trib. I think it is a per diem thing. I might just go to the directorate officials to give you the detail.

Mr Young: Only the chair position is remunerated. The chair is elected by the members of the council on a rotating three-year basis. The other positions are not remunerated. The amount of the remuneration is set by the Remuneration Tribunal.

MR CAIN: And do you know what the rate is per day?

Mr Young: I believe it is an annual amount. I would have to take the exact amount on notice, or I could probably source it during this hearing and come back to you.

MICK GENTLEMAN MLA: The answer to the Member's question is as follows:-

The Chair of the ACT Work Health and Safety Council is currently eligible to receive remuneration of \$20,100 per annum. This is as per the ACT Remuneration Tribunal determination 13 of 2020 - Part Time Public Office Holders.

Approved for circulation to the Standing Committee on Economy Gender and Economic Equality

Signature:

Date: 2/11/2021

By the Minister for Industrial Relations and Workplace Safety, Mick Gentleman MLA