

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

QON No. 85 (part 1)

STANDING COMMITTEE ON JUSTICE AND COMMUNITY SAFETY JEREMY HANSON CSC MLA (CHAIR), MARISA PATERSON MLA (DEPUTY CHAIR), JO CLAY MLA

Inquiry into referred 2019–20 Annual and Financial Reports and Budget Estimates 2020-21 ANSWER TO QUESTION ON NOTICE 25 February 2021

Asked by Mr Cain on 25 February 2021: The Special Minister for State passed part 1 of the following question on to the Electoral Commissioner, Damian Cantwell:

- 1. Regarding the changes mentioned in the JACSD Annual Report 2019-20 (p. 40) to *The Electoral Legislation Amendment Bill 2019* to enable electors to enrol up to and including polling day:
 - a. How many electors in each electorate enrolled on polling day?
 - b. How many electors in each electorate enrolled within 29 days of polling day?

Mr Cantwell's answers:

a. How many electors in each electorate enrolled on polling day? A total of 427 electors enrolled on polling day.

- i. Brindabella: 73
- ii. Ginninderra: 96
- iii. Kurrajong: 125
- iv. Murrumbidgee: 68
- v. Yerrabi: 65

b. How many electors in each electorate enrolled within 29 days of polling day? A total of 2,398 electors enrolled between 18 September and 16 October 2020.

- i. Brindabella: 347
- ii. Ginninderra: 452
- iii. Kurrajong: 672
- iv. Murrumbidgee: 416
- v. Yerrabi: 511

However, the date of potential greater significance is the date for the close of the preliminary electoral roll which occurs 36 days prior to election day (6pm 11 September 2020). During this period, a total of 2,935 new electors enrolled.

- i. Brindabella: 430
- ii. Ginninderra: 560
- iii. Kurrajong: 783
- iv. Murrumbidgee: 536
- v. Yerrabi: 626



LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

QON No. 85 (part 1)

STANDING COMMITTEE ON JUSTICE AND COMMUNITY SAFETY JEREMY HANSON CSC MLA (CHAIR), MARISA PATERSON MLA (DEPUTY CHAIR), JO CLAY MLA