Appendix 5—Chief Ministers

Name	Party	Period of office	Length of term
FOLLETT, Rosemary	Australian Labor Party	11.05.1989¹-05.12.1989	6 mths, 25 days
KAINE, Trevor	Liberal Party	05.12.19892-06.06.1991	1 yr, 6 mths, 2 days
FOLLETT, Rosemary	Australian Labor Party	$06.06.1991^{3} - 27.03.1992$	3 yrs, 9 mths, 4 days
		27.03.19924-09.03.1995	
CARNELL, Kate	Liberal Party	09.03.19955-19.03.1998	5 yrs, 7 mths, 9 days
		19.03.19986-17.10.2000	
HUMPHRIES, Gary	Liberal Party	18.10.2000 ⁷ –12.11.2001	1 yr, 26 days
STANHOPE, Jon	Australian Labor Party	12.11.20018-04.11.2004	9 yrs, 6 mths, 1 day
		04.11.20049-05.11.2008	
		05.11.200810-12.05.2011	
GALLAGHER, Katy	Australian Labor Party	$16.05.2011^{11} - 06.11.2012$	3 yrs, 6 mths, 25 days
		$06.11.2012^{12} - 10.12.2014$	
BARR, Andrew	Australian Labor Party	11.12.201413-31.10.2016	
		$31.10.2016^{14} - 03.11.2020$	
		03.11.202015-	

- 1 Elected, opposed by Mr Collaery; see MoP, No 1, 11 May 1989, p 3.
- Elected, opposed by Ms Follett; see MoP, No 38, 5 December 1989, p 158 (after a motion of want of confidence in Ms Follett, Chief Minister, had been passed by the Assembly; see MoP, No 38, 5 December 1989, p 157).
- Elected, opposed by Mr Kaine; see MoP, No 112, 6 June 1991, p 469 (after a motion of want of confidence in Mr Kaine, Chief Minister, had been passed by the Assembly; see MoP, No 112, 6 June 1991, p 469).
- 4 Elected, opposed by Mr Kaine; see MoP, No 1, 27 March 1992, p 2.
- 5 Elected, opposed by Ms Follett; see MoP, No 1, 9 March 1995, p 3.
- 6 Elected, opposed by Ms Tucker and Mr Stanhope; see MoP, No 19 March 1998, p 3.
- Flected, opposed by Mr Stanhope; see MoP, No 104, 18 October 2000, p 1013 (after resignation of Ms Carnell, Chief Minister, on 17 October 2000; see MoP, No 104, 18 October 2000, p 1013).
- 8 Elected, opposed by Mr Humphries; see MoP, No 1, 12 November 2001, p 3.
- 9 Elected, opposed by Mr Smyth; see MoP, No 1, 4 November 2004, p 3.
- Elected, opposed by Mr Seselja; see MoP, No 1, 5 November 2008, p 3.
- Elected, opposed by Mr Seselja; see MoP, No 105, 16 May 2011, pp 1311-2 (following resignation of Mr Stanhope, Chief Minister, on 12 May 2011; see MoP, No 105, 16 May 2011, p 1311).
- 12 Elected, opposed by Mr Seselja; see MoP, No 1, 6 November 2012, p 4.
- Elected, opposed by Mr Hanson; see MoP, No 84, 11 December 2014, pp 963-964 (following resignation of Ms Gallagher, Chief Minister, on 10 December 2014; see MoP, No 84, 11 December 2014, p 963).
- Elected, opposed by Mr Coe; see MoP, No 1, 31 October 2016, p 3.
- 15 Elected, opposed by Ms Lee; see MoP, No 1, 3 November 2020, pp 3-4.