

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Select Committee on Estimates 2015-16

MR BRENDAN SMYTH MLA (CHAIR), MS MEEGAN FITZHARRIS MLA (DEPUTY CHAIR), DR CHRIS BOURKE MLA, MS NICOLE LAWDER MLA

MEDIA RELEASE

COMMITTEE REPORT: APPROPRIATION BILL 2015-2016 AND THE APPROPRIATION (OFFICE OF THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY) BILL 2015-2016

Today in the Legislative Assembly for the ACT the Chair of the Select Committee on Estimates 2015-2016 Mr Brendan Smyth MLA tabled the Committee's report on the *Appropriation Bill 2015-2016* and *Appropriation (Office of the Legislative Assembly) Bill 2015-2016*.

In total the Committee made 148 recommendations in areas as diverse as:

- delivery of suitable and timely health care across the Territory;
- responses and funding to address domestic violence in the ACT;
- Capital Metro and urban renewal along the light rail corridor;
- appropriate facilities and resources for ageing Canberrans;
- development and continuation of roads projects;
- Mr Fluffy homes and progress and work of the Asbestos Response Taskforce;
- alcohol, drug and tobacco impacts on the community; and
- the provision of community housing.

Public hearings commenced on the 12 June 2015. The hearings were held over 11 days, ending on 26 June 2015.

During the course of the hearings the Committee heard from 178 witnesses, including:

- Ministers of the ACT Government;
- officers from government agencies;
- statutory officers and officers from statutory bodies; and
- community groups.

The Chair of the Committee, Mr Brendan Smyth MLA, noted that the Estimates inquiry process 'is one of the key scrutiny mechanisms enabling the Assembly to assess each year how the Government intends to spend taxpayers' money and whether it is achieving stated outcomes.'

Mr Smyth thanked his Committee colleagues and witnesses who appeared at the public hearings, noting that 'both public hearings and private deliberations have been conducted in a manner of collegiality.'

The Report is available on the Inquiry webpage: http://www.parliament.act.gov.au/in-committees/select_committees/template4/inquiry-into-appropriation-bill-2014-2015-and-the-appropriation-office-of-the-legislative-assembly-bill-2015-2016?inquiry=711016

Tuesday 4 August 2015

Further information:

Committee Chair, Mr Brendan Smyth MLA on (02) 6205 0099
Committee Secretary, Mrs Nicola Kosseck on (02) 6205 0435 or nicola.kosseck@parliament.act.gov.au
Committee Support Office: (02) 6205 0127