SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE DRUGS OF DEPENDENCE (PERSONAL USE) AMENDMENT BILL 2021

Mr Peter Cain MLA (Chair), Dr Marisa Paterson MLA (Deputy Chair) Mr Johnathan Davis MLA

## MEDIA RELEASE

## **Drugs of Dependence Committee tables report**

The Assembly created the Committee in February to examine the Drugs of Dependence (Personal Use) Amendment Bill 2021.

The Bill seeks to lower the penalty for simple drug offences (i.e. offences for possession of small quantities of drugs of dependence including MDMA, cocaine and heroin) and provides for simple drug offences to be treated in the same way in which simple cannabis offences are presently treated.

The Bill and its Explanatory Statement are at: https://www.legislation.act.gov.au/b/db 63822/.

The terms of reference included drug treatment and harm minimisation services in the ACT, and their funding.

The Committee received 59 submissions and held five public hearings.

The Committee Chair, Mr Peter Cain MLA, said that "The Committee received a great deal of evidence from experts, officials, and those with lived experience of drug use. We very much appreciated these contributions. The Committee recognises the terrible toll that drugs of dependence can have on people and those who love them. We look forward to the ACT Government improving services for those using drugs and their family members who are affected by it."

The Committee made 17 recommendations including:

- to pass the Bill;
- that the ACT Government develop new models of care such as specialised methamphetamine services, a women's day detox/rehab program, and family member support services; and
- that the ACT Government significantly increase its investment in the alcohol and other drug sector.

The Chair issued a dissenting report. Mr Cain stated that the Bill should not pass but supported the recommendations in relation to treatment and harm minimisation.

The Committee has ceased, now that it has tabled its report.

30 November 2021 STATEMENT ENDS.

For further information in relation to the Committee, please contact:

Committee Chair, Mr Peter Cain MLA on (02) 6205 1927