

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

STANDING COMMITTEE ON ECONOMY AND GENDER AND ECONOMIC EQUALITY Ms Leanne Castley (Chair), Ms Suzanne Orr (Deputy Chair), Mr Johnathan Davis MLA

Inquiry into ACT Budget 2021–22 ANSWER TO QUESTION TAKEN ON NOTICE Wednesday, 27 October 2021

Asked by PETER CAIN MLA on 27 OCTOBER 2021: ANDREW BARR MLA took on notice the following question(s):

[Ref: Hansard Transcript 27 October 2021, PAGE 162]

In relation to: CERAG

MR CAIN: The next part of my query on CERAG will probably be taken on notice, but you will be the judge of that. I would like to see a membership list for the group, including the following elements: how many members are there? What are their roles? Are there any specialists? How have you selected members for the advisory group, how have they been appointed and for how long? What are their powers, in general terms, beyond providing advice to you and your office? What are these positions paid?

ANDREW BARR MLA: The answer to the Member's question is as follows: -

There are 13 members on the Canberra Economic Advisory Group (CEAG). Members are as follows:

Mr Andrew Barr (Chair)	ACT Chief Minister
Ms Kathy Leigh (Deputy Chair)	Director-General and Head of Service, CMTEDD
Mr Stephen Bartos	Director, Asia Pacific, Pegasus Economics
Ms Hala Batainah	Chair of the Board, Canberra Innovation Network
Ms Renee Leon	Former Secretary, Department of Employment
Ms Jane Madden	Principal, Brickfielder Insights
Ms Cherelle Murphy	Chief Economist, Austrade
Professor Paddy Nixon	Vice-Chancellor, University of Canberra
Ms Zoe Piper	Founder/Managing Director, Ethitrade International
Dr Michael Schaper	Senior Strategic Advisor, Canberra Business Chamber
Professor Helen	Sullivan Director, Crawford School of Public Policy
Mr Alan Tse	Co-Founder and Commercial Director, Altina Drinks
Mr Nick Tyrrell	CEO, GoBoat Australia

Note – At the first meeting of the Board on 3 March 2021 it was agreed the name of the Board would be changed to the Canberra Economic Advisory Group (CEAG).

The Terms of Reference (ToR) (<u>attached</u>) provide areas of focus and responsibilities of members. The areas of focus for the Group include, but not be limited to:

• Advice on additional opportunities and actions for government, the private sector and relevant institutions to support growth and resilience in the ACT economy;



- Identification of systemic issues and barriers to achieving sustainable growth in the ACT economy and advice on strategies to address these issues;
- Advice on government measures to attract new investment to the ACT;
- Advice on future stages of tax reform to increase productivity; and
- Advice on opportunities for jobs growth.

The members of the board have a range of qualifications and experiences which make them suitable for the role. These include experience and or qualifications in economics, commerce, public policy, senior leadership, international relations, as well as experience in the business industry, unions, and volunteer work in the ACT.

Seven members were appointed directly by the Chief Minister based on their experience and expertise. Four members were appointed by the Chief Minister after an Expression of Interest process. Applicants submitted an expression of interest outlining their capabilities against the Terms of Reference. All appointments were endorsed by Cabinet.

Members were appointed for a six-month period commencing on 16 February 2021.

No powers have been provided to members. Members are only required to provide advice on matters pertaining to economic recovery and diversification for the ACT as outlined in the ToR.

The ACT Remuneration Tribunal determined that CEAG members should be paid \$16,000 per annum, noting that members have been appointed for six months only at this stage.

Approved for circulation to the Standing Committee on Economy Gender and Economic Equality

Signature:

Date: **%.||.2**|

By the Chief Minister, Andrew Barr MLA