

DEPARTMENT OF THE CHIEF MINISTER

Director Level 8 TIO Building 24 Michell Street DARWIN NT 0800 Postal address GPO Box 4396 DARWIN NT 0801

■ 08 8999 6227 ■ andrew.blakey@nt.gov.au

Ms Suzanne Orr MLA Chair, Standing Committee on Environment and Transport and City Services ACT Legislative Assembly

Via email: LACommitteeETCS@parliament.act.gov.au

Dear Ms Orr

RE: INFORMATION ON NORTHERN TERRITORY COAT OF ARMS

Thank you for your recent correspondence in relation to the granting of the Northern Territory Coat of Arms in 1978.

My work unit has undertaken research into the matter, which indicated the journey for the Northern Territory commenced in May 1969, when the then Legislative Council for the Northern Territory appointed a Select Committee to examine the ways and means by which the Territory may be provided with a coat of arms and a flag. There is little information available to clearly describe the steps taken at the time however, it appears there was little progress until the lead in to self-government in 1978.

An artist was engaged during the latter of 1977 to create a range of coat of arms designs using Territory flora and fauna for consideration.

In March 1978, having received the consensus of the Prime Minister of the day, the then Majority Leader of the Northern Territory, Mr Paul Everingham, wrote to the College of Arms, London, asking to put in motion the necessary steps toward requesting Her Majesty, The Queen, lay down the Royal Warrant armorial bearings for the Northern Territory of Australia. The Territory was granted self-government on 1 July 1978, and on 11 September 1978 the Coat of Arms came into effect.

I trust this information is of assistance to the Standing Committee on Environment and Transport and City Services. If you require any further information, please contact me at <u>Andrew.Blakey@nt.gov.au</u> or on (08) 8999 6238.

Yours sincerely

ANDREW BLAKEY

3 May 2019

www.nt.gov.au