Appendix 2—Speakers

Name	Party	Assembly	Period of office	Length of term
PROWSE, David	No Self-Government Party ¹	First	11.05.1989 ² – 27.03.1992	2 yrs, 10 mths, 17 days
McRAE OAM, Roberta,	Australian Labor Party	Second	27.03.1992 ³ - 09.03.1995	2 yrs, 11 mths, 11 days ⁴
CORNWELL, Greg	Liberal Party	Third Fourth	09.03.1995 ⁵ – 12.11.2001	6 yrs, 8 mths, 4 days
BERRY, Wayne	Australian Labor Party	Fifth Sixth	12.11.2001 ⁶ - 05.11.2008	6 yrs, 11 mths, 25 days
RATTENBURY, Shane	ACT Greens	Seventh	05.11.2008 ⁷ – 06.11.2012	4 yrs, 2 days
DUNNE, Vicki	Liberal Party	Eighth	06.11.2012 ⁸ – 31.10.2016	3 yrs, 11 mths, 26 days
BURCH, Joy	Australian Labor Party	Ninth Tenth	31.10.20169-	

Resigned from No Self-Government Party on 3 December 1989 and became a member of the Independents Group; resigned from Independents Group and became an Independent from 1 May 1990, became a member of the Liberal Party from 31 July 1990.

Elected, opposed by Dr Kinloch and Mr Stefaniak; see MoP, No 1, 11 May 1989, p 2.

³ Elected unopposed; see MoP, No 1, 27 March 1992, p 2.

⁴ Ms Grassby was elected as Acting Speaker for one day on 22 October 1992 due to the absence of both the Speaker and Deputy Speaker; see MoP, No 34, 22 October 1992, p 181.

Elected, opposed by Ms McRae; see MoP, No 1, 9 March 1995, p 2. Re-elected on 19 March 1998 unopposed; see MoP, No 1, 19 March 1998, p 2.

Elected unopposed; see MoP, No 1, 12 November 2001, pp 2-3. Re-elected on 4 November 2004 unopposed; see MoP, No 1, 4 November 2004, p 2.

⁷ Elected, opposed by Mrs Dunne; see MoP, No 1, 5 November 2008, pp 2-3.

⁸ Elected, opposed by Ms Porter AM; see MoP, No 1, 6 November 2012, pp 3-4.

⁹ Elected, opposed by Mrs Dunne; see MoP, No 1, 31 October 2016, p 3. Re-elected on 3 November 2020 unopposed; see MoP, No 1, 3 November 2020, p 3.