# Companion to the Standing Orders of the Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory

## SECOND EDITION

### **Editors**

David Skinner Senior Director, Office of the Clerk

Tom Duncan Clerk of the Legislative Assembly

### **Assistant Editors**

Mark McRae OAM
Former Clerk of the Legislative Assembly

Max Kiermaier Former Deputy Clerk of the Legislative Assembly

> Celeste Italiano Executive Officer, Office of the Clerk

© Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory

First edition published in Canberra, 2009 edited by Mark McRae with assistant editors Derek Abbott and Tom Duncan Second edition published in Canberra, 2022

All legislative material herein does not purport to be the official or authorised version.

ISBN: 978-0-642-60718-8 (Print) ISBN: 978-0-642-60719-5 (Digital)

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution—NonCommercial—NoDerivs 3.0 Australia Licence (CC BY-NC-ND 3.0 AU). The details of this licence are available at <a href="mailto:creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/legalcode">creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/legalcode</a>.



Published by the Office of the Legislative Assembly Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory London Circuit, Canberra ACT 2601, Australia The Office of the Legislative Assembly acknowledges and pays respect to the past, present and future Traditional Custodians and Elders of this nation and the continuation of cultural, spiritual, and educational practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

The Office values their contribution to the life of our city and to the Canberra region.





# Reference guide

Abbreviation	Full text	
ACT	Australian Capital Territory.	
Assembly	The Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory, established pursuant to section 8 of the <i>Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Act 1988</i> (Cth).	
	The term is also used to denote the period between the first meeting of an Assembly following a general election and, unless the Assembly were to be dissolved earlier by the Governor-General, the polling day for the next general election.	
Assembly Debates	Debates of the Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory (Hansard) from 1989 to present. Contained in bound volumes. References are to date and page. For example, Assembly Debates, 21 June 1995, pp 969-971.	
Commonwealth Gazette	Commonwealth of Australia Gazette and, from July 1973 until June 1977, Australian Government Gazette.	
House of Commons	United Kingdom House of Commons (unless otherwise indicated).	
House of Representatives Debates	Debates of the House of Representatives (Hansard). References are to date and page. For example, House of Representatives Debates, 6 March 1991, p 1419.	
House of Representatives Practice	<i>House of Representatives Practice</i> . The 7 <sup>th</sup> Edition, published in 2018, is the edition referred to in the Companion unless otherwise stated.	
May	Erskine May, <i>The Law, Privileges, Proceedings and Usage of Parliament</i> . The Twenty-fifth Edition, published in 2019, is the edition referred to in the Companion unless otherwise stated.	
McGee	David McGee, <i>Parliamentary Practice in New Zealand</i> . The Fourth Edition, published in 2017, is the edition referred to unless otherwise stated.	
Member	Member of the Legislative Assembly	
MLA	Member of the Legislative Assembly	
МоР	Minutes of Proceedings of the Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory from 1989 to present. Contained in bound volumes and indexed according to each Assembly. References are to MoP, number, date and page; for example, MoP, No 99, 3 September 2000, p 222.	
Non-executive members	Non-executive members are also referred to as private members throughout the text.	

Abbreviation	Full text	
Notice Paper	Notice Paper of the Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory from 1989 to present. Contained in bound annual volumes. References are to NP, number, date and page. For example, NP, No 78, 16 February 2000, p 123.	
Odgers'	<i>Odgers' Australian Senate Practice</i> . The 14 <sup>th</sup> edition, published in 2016, is the edition referred to in the Companion unless otherwise stated.	
OLA	Office of the Legislative Assembly, established by the <i>Legislative Assembly</i> (Office of the Legislative Assembly) Act 2012.	
Private members	Private members are also referred to as non-executive members throughout the text.	
QNP	Questions on Notice Paper of the Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory from December 2016 to present. Indexed according to Assembly and available online at <a href="https://www.parliament.act.gov.au">www.parliament.act.gov.au</a> . References are to QNP number, date and page; for example, QNP, No 22, 17 August 2018, p 4.	
Quick and Garran	J Quick and R R Garran, <i>The Annotated Constitution of the Australian Commonwealth</i> , published in 1901.	
Redlich	Josef Redlich, <i>The Procedure of the House of Commons: A Study of its History and Present Form</i> , Volumes I, II and III, Archibald Constable & Co Ltd, London, 1908.	
Scrutiny Committee	The role of scrutiny of bills and subordinate legislation (scrutiny role) has been performed variously by the Standing Committee on Legal Affairs and the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety.	
Senate Debates	Debates of the Senate (Hansard). References are to date and page. For example, Senate Debates, 24 November 1988, pp 2731-2733.	
Senate Journals	Journals of the Senate. References are to sessional volume, date and page number. For example, Journals of the Senate, No 108, 15 August 2018, p 34.	
Territory	Australian Capital Territory	
To date	There are a number of references throughout the Companion stating that 'to date' one matter or another had or had not occurred. 'To date' refers to the date on which primary content for the Second Edition was finalised (on 30 June 2021), prior to publication.	

# **Key legislation**

Abbreviation	Name of Act	
Acts Interpretation Act	Acts Interpretation Act 1901 (Cth)	
Auditor-General Act	Auditor-General Act 1996	
Broadcasting Act	Legislative Assembly (Broadcasting) Act 2001	
Civil Laws (Wrongs) Act	Civil Laws (Wrongs) Act 2002	
Commonwealth Electoral Act	Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 (Cth)	
Commonwealth Constitution	Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act 1900 (UK)	
Criminal Code	Criminal Code 2002	
Electoral Act	Electoral Act 1992	
Financial Management Act	Financial Management Act 1996	
FOI Act	Freedom of Information Act 2016	
Human Rights Act	Human Rights Act 2004	
Integrity Commission Act	Integrity Commission Act 2018	
Judicial Commissions Act	Judicial Commissions Act 1994	
LAMS Act	Legislative Assembly (Members' Staff) Act 1989	
Legislation Act	Legislation Act 2001	
Oaths and Affirmations Act	Oaths and Affirmations Act 1984	
OLA Act	Legislative Assembly (Office of the Legislative Assembly) Act 2012	
Ombudsman Act	Ombudsman Act 1989	
Parliamentary Privileges Act	Parliamentary Privileges Act 1987 (Cth)	
PID Act	Public Interest Disclosure Act 2012	
Planning and Development Act	Planning and Development Act 2007	
Precincts Act	Legislative Assembly Precincts Act 2001	
Proportional Representation (Hare-Clark) Entrenchment Act)	Proportional Representation (Hare-Clark) Entrenchment Act 1994	
Public Sector Management Act	Public Sector Management Act 1994	
Referendum (Machinery Provisions) Act	Referendum (Machinery Provisions) Act 1994	
Remuneration Tribunal Act	Remuneration Tribunal Act 1995	
Self-Government Act	Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Act 1988 (Cth)	