LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY



FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS Elizabeth Kikkert MLA (Chair), Michael Pettersson MLA (Deputy Chair), Andrew Braddock MLA

MEDIA RELEASE

Inquiry into grants management

The Standing Committee on Public Accounts (the Committee) has announced it will be undertaking a new inquiry entitled *Inquiry into grants management*.

The Committee will be inquiring into and reporting on the processes and management of grants programs. The Committee will not be examining decisions made in relation to individual grants.

The Committee will explore issues surrounding the administration, probity and governance of Government grants programs, focusing on the:

- policy and legislative frameworks;
- range and availability of funding including the oversight of funding determinations;
- transparency of decisions including assessment processes and the scope for Ministerial discretion over approvals; and
- measures necessary to ensure the integrity of grants schemes and public confidence in the allocation of public money grants programs.

'Grant programs are funded by public money and the funding decisions made by the government should be transparent and accountable in delivering a public benefit independent of political objectives,' said Committee Chair, Mrs Elizabeth Kikkert MLA.

The Terms of Reference for the inquiry are available on the Committee webpage: Inquiry into grants management - ACT Legislative Assembly

The Committee invites submissions from interested organisations and individuals to its inquiry. **Submissions should be lodged with the Committee Secretary by COB 2 December 2022**

Submissions should be forwarded to: LACommitteePA@parliament.act.gov.au

Further information on lodging a submission is available at: <u>https://www.parliament.act.gov.au/parliamentary-business/in-committees/Getting-involved</u>

STATEMENT ENDS—Tuesday, 20 September 2022

For more information contact:

Committee Chair, Mrs Elizabeth Kikkert MLA on (02) 620 51405

Committee Secretary, Ms Joanne Cullen on (02) 620 50435