STANDING COMMITTEE ON JUSTICE AND COMMUNITY SAFETY
Mr Jeremy Hanson MLA (Chair), Dr Marisa Paterson MLA (Deputy Chair), Ms Jo Clay MLA

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

## More time to participate in 2020 Election inquiry

Canberrans now have more time to have their say on the 2020 ACT Election.

The closing date for submissions to the Assembly inquiry has been extended to 30 April 2021.

A wide range of topics are open for discussion, including:

- · impact of COVID-19 on the ACT election,
- timeframe and accessibility of early voting,
- number and location of polling places,
- systems for electronic voting,
- duration of campaign period,
- restrictions on roadside signage,
- donation rules,
- voter turnout and participation in elections,
- · restrictions on campaigning activities outside polling places, and
- lowering the voting age.

The Chair of the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety, Mr Jeremy Hanson MLA, said today: 'After receiving some early requests for extension of time, the committee agreed to allow all submitters the same opportunity to participate in the inquiry'.

The Committee's terms of reference are available on the Legislative Assembly website at: <a href="https://www.parliament.act.gov.au/parliamentary-business/in-committees/committees/jcs">https://www.parliament.act.gov.au/parliamentary-business/in-committees/jcs</a>

Information about how to make a submission is available at: <a href="www.parliament.act.gov.au/incommittees/Getting-involved">www.parliament.act.gov.au/incommittees/Getting-involved</a>.

24 February 2021 STATEMENT ENDS.

## For further information please contact:

Committee Chair, Mr Jeremy Hanson MLA on (02) 6205 0135 Committee Secretary, Brianna McGill, on (02) 6207 0524 or at <u>LACommitteeJCS@parliament.act.gov.au</u>